Climate-neutral urban district

In Esslingen am Neckar in Baden-Württemberg, an almost climate-neutral urban quarter is being created. The sustainable showcase quarter “Neue Weststadt – Klimaquartier” with 450 apartments, office and commercial space as well as a new building for the Esslingen University of Applied Sciences is being realized on the former goods station site in the west of the city. Within the framework of the research project “Climate-neutral urban quarter – New Weststadt Esslingen”, a sustainable energy concept is to be implemented at quarter level.

»
climate protection made in Germany - Technologies related to "green" hydrogen are of utmost importance for the sustainability of Germany as an industrial location.
«

National Hydrogen Strategy Federal Ministry of Education and Research – – www.bmbf.de

With Power-to-Gas-to-Power (P2G2P) as the key technology, surplus green electricity is converted locally into “green hydrogen” and processed for use in urban areas, mobility and industry. Neue Weststadt is one of six urban planning lighthouse projects funded by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy (BMWi) and the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).

Climate Quarter

In Esslingen am Neckar, energy-conscious and resource-saving living and working can be experienced. With state-of-the-art technologies, interdisciplinary know-how and a holistic, socially and ecologically sustainable approach to energy supply, the district plays a pioneering role in terms of building, living, sustainable mobility and energy efficiency.

Climate Quarter Esslingen

Energy Concept

The urban development project “New West Town – Climate Quarter” in Esslingen is unique in Germany thanks to its forward-looking energy concept. The energy supply for the quarter is to cause almost no climate-damaging emissions such as CO2, and energy consumption is to be reduced without loss of comfort, and maximum energy efficiency is to be achieved.

The energy concept

Information center

The information and visitor center for the “Klimaquartier – Neue Weststadt” is to be designed and opened on the station forecourt in Esslingen for interested citizens, trade visitors as well as guided groups and delegations. Interactive stations and a multimedia exhibition provide exciting and unusual insights into the research project.

Information center

Events

Der Elektrolyseur kommt

Date: 30. November 2020

Time: 12:00 bis 18:00

Location: Klimaquartier Neue Weststadt

Der Elektrolyseur – das Herzstück des Klimaquartiers in der Neuen Weststadt soll im November 2020 installiert und für den Betrieb vorbereitet werden. Der Einbau des Elektroyseurs ist ein wichtiger Meilenstein im Forschungsprojekt und ein weiterer Schritt auf dem Weg in das “Grüner-Wasserstoff-Zeitalter” in Esslingen am Neckar.

News

Dr. Walther with visitors from Japan

Visitors from Japan

The Neue Weststadt in Esslingen becomes climate neutral. This is of great interest to experts from all over the world. There were even visitors from Japan.

Mehr lesen

Prof. Dr. Fisch on the stage of the Energy Transition Congress 2019

And The Winner Is…

Green Hydrogen Esslingen GmbH (GHE) wins second place in the audience award of the Energy Efficiency Award 2019 of the BMWi/dena. The GHE is a member of the consortium of the lighthouse project "Climate Neutral Urban District - Neue Weststadt Esslingen".

Mehr lesen

Group photo in front of an apartment block

Delegation from Slovakia

In January 2020, a delegation from Slovakia visited the Climate District in the western part of Esslingen. The engineers and energy experts got a first-hand impression on site.

Mehr lesen

How does it work?POWER TO GAS?

Historical black and white photo of the city of Esslingen, vineyards in the background

Innovative strength in Esslingen

Esslinger Weststadt has been moving with the times - for over 100 years.

The western part of Esslingen has always been a place where innovation is lived and experienced, where Swabian inventiveness and entrepreneurship provide for economic upswing, and where high-quality products are manufactured that are popular and in demand all over the world. Innovation has a long tradition here. The proven technologies, findings and results from the research project “Neue Weststadt – Klimaquartier” can serve as a model for other cities and regions worldwide and promote climate-friendly and sustainable development in the areas of construction, housing and energy supply.

In leichter Sprache anzeigen

Klimaneutrales Stadtquartier

In Esslingen am Neckar in Baden-Württemberg entsteht ein nahezu klimaneutrales Stadtquartier. Auf dem ehemaligen Güterbahnhofsgelände im Westen der Stadt wird das nachhaltige Vorzeigequartier „Neue Weststadt – Klimaquartier“ mit 450 Wohnungen, Büro- und Gewerbeflächen sowie einem Neubau der Hochschule Esslingen realisiert. Im Rahmen des Forschungsvorhabens „Klimaneutrales Stadtquartier – Neue Weststadt Esslingen“ soll dabei ein zukunftsfähiges Energiekonzept auf Quartiersebene umgesetzt werden.

»
Klimaschutz made in Germany – Technologien rund um den „grünen“ Wasserstoff sind von höchster Bedeutung für die Zukunftsfähigkeit des Industriestandortes Deutschland.
«

Nationale Wasserstoffstrategie Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung – www.bmbf.de

Mit Power-to-Gas-to-Power (P2G2P) als Schlüsseltechnologie wird vor Ort überschüssiger Ökostrom in „grünen Wasserstoff“ umgewandelt und für die Nutzung im Stadtviertel, in der Mobilität und der Industrie aufbereitet. Die Neue Weststadt ist eines von sechs städteplanerischen Leuchtturmprojekten, die vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) und vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) gefördert werden.

Klimaquartier

In Esslingen am Neckar wird energiebewusstes und ressourcenschonendes Wohnen und Arbeiten erlebbar. Mit modernsten Technologien, interdisziplinärem Know-how und einem ganzheitlichen, sozial und ökologisch nachhaltigen Energieversorgungsansatz nimmt das Stadtviertel in Sachen Bauen, Wohnen, nachhaltige Mobilität und Energieeffizienz eine Pionierrolle ein.

Klimaquartier Esslingen

Energiekonzept

Das Stadtbauprojekt „Neue Weststadt – Klimaquartier“ in Esslingen ist durch sein zukunftsweisendes Energiekonzept einmalig in Deutschland. Bei der energetischen Versorgung des Quartiers sollen nahezu keine klimaschädlichen Emissionen wie COverursacht und der Energieverbrauch ohne Komfortverlust reduziert sowie höchste Energieeffizienz ermöglicht werden.

Das Energiekonzept

Infozentrum

Das Informations- und Besucherzentrum zum „Klimaquartier – Neue Weststadt” soll für interessierte Bürgerinnen und Bürger, Fachpublikum sowie geführte Gruppen und Delegationen auf dem Bahnhofsvorplatz in Esslingen gestaltet und eröffnet werden. Interaktive Stationen und eine multimediale Ausstellung gewähren spannende und außergewöhnliche Einblicke in das Forschungsprojekt.

Infozentrum

Veranstaltungen

Der Elektrolyseur kommt

Datum: 30. November 2020

Uhrzeit: 12:00 bis 18:00

Ort: Klimaquartier Neue Weststadt

Der Elektrolyseur – das Herzstück des Klimaquartiers in der Neuen Weststadt soll im November 2020 installiert und für den Betrieb vorbereitet werden. Der Einbau des Elektroyseurs ist ein wichtiger Meilenstein im Forschungsprojekt und ein weiterer Schritt auf dem Weg in das “Grüner-Wasserstoff-Zeitalter” in Esslingen am Neckar.

Aktuelles

Gruppenfoto vor einem Wohnblock - klimaneutrales Stadtquartier

Delegation aus der Slowakei

Im Januar 2020 besuchte eine Delegation aus der Slowakei das Klimaquartier in der Esslinger Weststadt. Die IngenieurInnen und Energie-ExpertInnen machten sich ein Bild vor Ort.

Mehr lesen

Prof. Dr. Fisch auf der Bühne des Energiewende-Kongresses 2019

And The Winner Is …

Die Green Hydrogen Esslingen GmbH (GHE) gewinnt den zweiten Platz beim Publikumspreis des Energy Efficiency Award 2019 des BMWi/dena. Die GHE ist Mitglied des Konsortiums des Leuchtturmprojekts „Klimaneutrales Stadtquartier – Neue Weststadt Esslingen".

Mehr lesen

Forschungsteam und Ingenieure mit Stadt Esslingen und Frau Dr. Walther mit Besuchern aus Japan

Besuch aus Japan

Die Neue Weststadt in Esslingen wird klimaneutral. Das interessiert Fachleute aus aller Welt. Sogar aus Japan war Besuch da.

Mehr lesen

Wie funktioniertPOWER TO GAS?

Historische schwarz-weiß-Aufnahme der Stadt Esslingen, im Hintergrund Weinberge

Innovationskraft in Esslingen

Die Esslinger Weststadt geht mit der Zeit – schon seit über 100 Jahren.

Die Weststadt Esslingens ist von jeher ein Ort, an dem Innovation gelebt und erlebbar wird, schwäbischer Erfindergeist und Unternehmertum für wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung sorgen, sowie hochwertige Produkte gefertigt werden, die in der ganzen Welt beliebt und gefragt sind. Hier hat Innovation Tradition. Die erprobten Technologien, Erkenntnisse und Ergebnisse aus dem Forschungsprojekt „Neue Weststadt – Klimaquartier“ können für andere Städte und Regionen weltweit Vorbild sein und eine klimafreundliche und nachhaltige Entwicklung im Bereich Bauen, Wohnen und Energieversorgung fördern.